Cooney Law Offices P.S.

Phone Calls Answered 24/7 Free Consultation

509-598-2677

DUI Archives

What can a DUI Attorney do for me?

Getting a DUI can lead to many emotions like regret and disappointment. It can also be a confusing time trying to figure out simple things like where the courthouse is located or whether your license is valid. If you are charged with a DUI, then an experienced attorney will provide you with the guidance and advice to achieve the best possible result for your case.

DUI Deferred Prosecution

When someone is charged with a DUI in Washington State a Deferred Prosecution is one of several potential resolutions. After a complete investigation of the evidence and after negotiations with the prosecuting attorney your attorney should present all options for resolving your DUI charge. Any DUI that doesn't get dismissed through suppression motions will eventually come down to one of three options: accepting a negotiated resolution, going to trial or asking the judge to grant a Deferred Prosecution.

Understanding the DUI Sentencing Grid

The Washington State Courts' DUI Sentencing Grid details the mandatory minimum penalties for misdemeanor DUI convictions. The sentencing grid attempts to simplify the penalties found in RCW 46.61.5055. The grid is split into columns by number of prior offenses and in rows by breath or blood test results. The Washington State Courts update the grid every year or two as amendments to DUI laws are passed by the legislature. Recent versions of the grid can be found here.

Roadside DUI Tests

DUI cases often start as a normal traffic stop for speeding or some other traffic violation. When these stops occur it is important to understand your rights and the consequences of performing or refusing roadside DUI tests. More often than not in Washington State these roadside tests will consist of a test of one's eyes, two agility/balance tests and possibly a roadside breath test.

What Are DUI Mandatory Minimums?

All adult DUI convictions, including non-felony misdemeanor convictions, in Washington State carry mandatory minimum penalties. These mandatory minimums come from the legislature and generally can be found in the Revised Code of Washington 46.61.5055. When the legislature amends these penalties, the Washington State Court system drafts a quick reference sheet.

Pushing the Limits: Alcohol and Marijuana DUI's

Washington State DUI laws have a legal limit for alcohol .08. Over the last 100 years there has been a lot of research linking alcohol consumption to physical and mental impairment. Did you know a few years ago Washington State DUI laws added a legal limit for marijuana intoxication? That limit is 5 ng of THC (Tetrahydrocannabinol), which is the chemical responsible for most of the impairing effects of marijuana. Compared to alcohol there is significantly less research on the quantity of THC in one's blood that is necessary to impair physical and/or mental functions.

What is a Baby DUI?

Recently, a Washington State University football player was accused of Baby DUI. It appears he was under 21 years of age and driving in Pullman, Washington with a breath alcohol content of .076. He'll likely have to fight two separate cases: one against the criminal charge in the courtroom and another against the Washington State Department of Licensing to try to save his driver's license.

Labor Day DUI Patrols Announced

The Washington State Traffic Safety Commission has announced extra Driving Under the Influence (DUI) patrols starting in August and running through Labor Day Weekend (see link at the end of this post). This can be an especially dangerous time on the roadways around Spokane as many people are taking road trips over the long holiday weekend and before school starts in September. Anything that impairs or distracts a driver, like alcohol, drugs, cell phones or sleep deprivation, can have terrible consequences!

DUI Last Night. Can I Drive Today?

When a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) arrest occurs in Washington State the government does not immediately take away someone's driver's license. The key word is "immediately." Many people think they lose their license at the time they are arrested for a DUI. This is incorrect. There may be a suspension some time after the DUI arrest, but it is not immediate or even the next day.

DUI: To Blow or Refuse

Most people arrested for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Spokane County or within Washington State will be asked to submit to a test of their breath to determine their breath alcohol content (BAC). Specifically, law enforcement will ask for a breath test at the police station and the driver will have to choose whether to blow on the government's machine or refuse the breath test.

email us for a response

Tell Us About Your Case

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

brand

Office Location
330 W. Indiana Ave.
Spokane, WA 99205

Toll Free: 888-302-2613
Phone: 509-598-2677
Phone: 509-327-6000
Fax: 509-325-1859
Spokane Law Office Map