A conviction for DUI, which might occur after being accused and going through the court process, has a wide range of penalties. Washington State law lists mandatory minimum penalties for different levels of DUI. Generally, these include jail time, fines and loss of driver’s license. After a conviction judges can impose up to 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine, but serving the maximum jail sentence is rare.

After a first offense DUI conviction judges are required to impose a mandatory minimum sentence of at least one day in jail and a fine of just under $1,000.00. On a first offense DUI this jail sentence can be converted to electronic home monitoring, but second offense and subsequent DUI convictions do not have this option. In addition to the mandatory fine there are other court costs so total court bill is usually closer to $2,500.00.

The Washington State Department of Licensing (DOL) will suspend or revoke your driver’s license for at least 90 days on a first offense DUI conviction. When you’re ready to drive again, they’ll require the ignition interlock device for at least 12 months and SR-22 insurance.

Lastly, judges must order you to complete an alcohol/drug evaluation and treatment as well as the DUI Victim’s Impact Panel (VIP). These classes can range from a one-day educational seminar to a two-year outpatient treatment or even an inpatient residential treatment program.

Some of these penalties can be avoided or reduced if your attorney can avoid an actual DUI conviction. Regardless of your DUI offense level you should consult with an experienced attorney who can guide you to the best possible resolution. Contact Cooney Law Offices today. We can help!