Can you get a DUI on a Lime Scooter?

The short answer is no, you can’t get a DUI in Spokane on a Lime Scooter. This doesn’t mean it’s a good idea to drink too much and hop on an electric scooter. You could injure yourself by running into a curb or you could strike a pedestrian crossing the street. You...

When To Blow On The PBT

The Preliminary Breath Test or Portable Breath Test (PBT) is a handheld device that tests your breath alcohol content (BAC) at the roadside. Under Washington State law the PBT results aren’t accurate enough to be used against you in a DUI trial. However, they can be...

How much does a First DUI cost?

Being arrested for DUI is expensive. There are too many variables to pin down an exact cost for all DUI’s, but most folks will spend around $8,000 over several years when you add up all the expenses related to a first offense DUI. The DUI costs can start racking up...

When is a DUI a Felony?

Most DUI charges in Washington State are not felonies, but rather gross misdemeanors. There are three general classifications of criminal charges under Washington State law: Simple Misdemeanor, Gross Misdemeanor and Felony. Gross misdemeanors, which covers most DUI’s,...

What are the penalties for a First DUI?

DUI convictions have a wide range of penalties. Everyone accused of a DUI is at risk of: Jail time, Fines, fees and court costs, Loss of driver license, Installing the ignition interlock device, Paying high automobile insurance rates, Attendance at a DUI Victim’s...

How a DUI can lead to the Ignition Interlock Device

The Ignition Interlock Device (IID) is a breath test machine that attaches to the steering column of your car. It requires you to provide a breath sample that is free from alcohol before you can start your car and it will beep at you periodically requiring a sample in...

What does First Offense DUI Mean?

For a misdemeanor DUI in Washington State there is a 7 year look back period to determine whether your current DUI is a first offense. An old DUI or Physical Control arrest will count as a prior offense for a new DUI arrest if the old arrest occurred within 7 years...

Are there More DUI Arrests During the Holidays?

Historically, DUI arrests rise during the holiday season. Alcohol consumption is often a part of the office holiday parties and unwinding with family and friends. When the final numbers for the 2020 holiday season are tallied there will likely be fewer DUI arrests due...

Dismissed Blood Draw DUI’s

Just because your blood draw DUI was dismissed by a judge, doesn’t necessarily mean you’re in the clear. In the Washington State criminal court system there are two types of dismissals: Dismissal With Prejudice and Dismissal Without Prejudice. Dismissal with prejudice...

How to Read Your DUI Breath Test Printout

Most folks arrested for DUI in Washington State will be asked to submit to a breath alcohol content (BAC) test at the police station. The Alcotest 9510 or “Draeger” machine will likely be the machine you’re asked to blow on since it replaced the old Datamaster in...